Reviews For Veiled Threat
Title: Chapter 11 - Promises to Keep

JoJo's back!   You made my day and great chapter as usual!!!



Author's Response:

You've put a smile on my face :) I was worried you guys were going to fuss at me for disappearing lol. I've decided to make ch 11 a 2 part adventure..there's too much going on to move on to another chapter. I'm it writing as we speak. stay tuned!

Reviewer: pearlcat Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 28 2015 06:31 pm

Title: Chapter 10 - Finally

Oooooo this is getting good! Dude didn't waste no time collecting his prize after making the decision to do so - can't wait to see exactly how that fateful moment presented itself. He is cunning, patient and methodical but he's becoming sloppy isn't he? The cops have him on video, right? More importantly...a seasoned detective has seen his face! He just doesn't know that yet! Speaking of Quinn, he is going to be livid once he learns the abduction occurred during his watch!

 

It's been thirty-six hours since Nicole's disappearance and no one has reported her missing? Not even Leigha? Which makes me think foulplay has befallen the lovely designer as well, right?  There's no indication - that I can remember- that would warrant a silent friend if her roommate hadn't come home in three days!! Which means their places of business is void of their presence- soooo....something had to happen.

puhleezze update soon!



Author's Response:

I know..I knoww :( I'm terrible for not updating anything lol. I haven't forgotten, I've just allowed myself to be pulled away by other things...you know how life gets sometimes.

 

Now then..yes, it seems that our killer has made a few missteps in his haste to get dear Miss Nikki. He was on the security footage, even if his face wasn't visable. But I'm sure Quinn will pull the pieces together. Let's just hope he doesn't beat himself up too bad for leaving Nikki in her time of need. And what of Leigha?? You'd think she would be the first to sound the alarm when Nikki didn't come home. And no one at the matchmaking service has said anything either...hmmmm. (dun dun DUUHHHH..lol)

I promise, promise, promise to have something new for you very soon. Thanks for sticking with me :)

Reviewer: JV4ME Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 01 2014 02:19 am

Title: Chapter 10 - Finally

Oh shit!!!!! So glad you updated. This is definitely my kind of story!! Brilliant! !



Author's Response:

It took me a while to finish it, but the entire time I was working on this chapter I was excited/nervous to find out what you all would think about the turn of events. Glad you enjoyed it :)

Reviewer: Artamiss Caine Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 29 2014 08:02 pm

Title: Chapter 10 - Finally

Nicole really should have been more careful and she's been both drugged and kidnapped by this psycho.  I wonder how long will it take for Quinn to realize that she is missing? Will her job report her missing when she doesn't show up? Who is this this freakazoid? This was so good!!



Author's Response:

If only Quinn hadn't stormed out on her...*sigh* lol.

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 29 2014 02:50 pm

Title: Chapter 10 - Finally

Ohmygoodness, now this is what I call a real mystery! You had me glued to this story for ages my eyes refused to look away from it. Ohmygoodness, I just want to know who's the killer... I keep thinking it's cases but I'm not sure.

this story is so very well thought out and developed it's just too goody goody. I can't wait for the next chap!!!!



Author's Response:

 I'm glad I've got you hooked :) To tell you the truth, at first I wasn't sure who the killer was lol. Good thing I figured it out or we'd all be left in the dark and this thing would never get finished ;)

Reviewer: Anomy Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 29 2014 02:03 pm

Title: Chapter 10 - Finally

OMG poor Nichole! 🙀. I just wanna push kind Detective Quinn down a 3 story flight of stairs -.-! Great chapter! I'm still not sure who did it! Had to have been that new guy. But who is he????



Author's Response:

Quinn can be a bit frustrating at times...or most of the time ;) I'm glad I still have you guessing...that means I'm on the right track. Thanks for reading :)

Reviewer: Anonymous Anonymous [Report This]
Date: May 29 2014 12:36 pm

Title: Chapter 9 - Wolf:Sheep::Fox:Hen

Badge Bunnies!?!   I love Quinn!



Author's Response:

Apparently that's a real term...it's how cops/wives refer to women who chase after cops. Thought it seemed like something Quinn would say :)

Reviewer: pearlcat Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 10 2014 07:11 pm

Title: Chapter 9 - Wolf:Sheep::Fox:Hen

Wow - oh  wow- when you take a break you come back with a hellava update! Finally, he's shone himself! He was in the room with her- I just know it! Don't leave Quinn...'your' lady may be in some serious danger man! Quinn is good at what he does.  I like 'watching' his wheels turn as he tries to solve this case.

Obviously Byron knows Nykki well enough to detect the growing attraction she has- and tries to hide - for the handsome detective. I can't wait for them to become...better acquainted.  I really like the natural chemistry between the main characters - their purpose juxtaposes the plot quite nicely. Also, the flow doesn't feel hurried nor stalled.and the dialogue isn't repetitious either (gawd that drives me nuts!); the story's cadence naturally progresses forward and thus, never leaving the reader in a literary limbo.

Looking forward to the next installment and the suspense that's sure to come. Nice job 👏😃



Author's Response:

Trust me when I say your words have truly humbled me. I had to re-read them simply because I was floating on cloud 9 after the first sentence! Just earlier this evening, I was 'complaining' to the hubs that now that I've started writing, I've got a million different storylines and characters crowding my brain and I can't get them out fast enough...THANK YOU for validating my decision to make my stories public.

So, back to the story lol.. Yay!! I'm so glad you picked up on the killer's presence in the same room with Nikki. He's always been a shadow-y figure off in the background. I thought it was about time for him to step out into the light. The time for all 3 views to merge is quickly approaching (muah ha ha).

Byron tried to play the big man in Nikki's life, but Quinn is too cool for school! I want the relationship between the two of them to be organic and progress in a believable way.. none of that 'lovers after a day' business for these two. But when (if?? I'm terrible aren't I) they do come together it would be AMAZING!! Lol :)

The next chapter is in the works...and I've titled it, which is always a sign that it's near completion. Stay tuned!

Reviewer: JV4ME Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 04 2014 07:05 am

Title: Prologue - Purpose Driven

Finally an update ! I was checking here everyday and you finally updated I'm still wondering who tf this creep is that wants nikki...seems here and quinn might be getting a little cozy huh huh ! Hurry and update please I need more !



Author's Response:

Chapter 10 is being written right now..and chapter 11 outline is complete :)

Reviewer: Cat Signed [Report This]
Date: April 22 2014 11:12 am

Title: Prologue - Purpose Driven

Wonderful introduction



Author's Response:

Thank you! Hope you enjoy the story :)

Reviewer: Bredreaway Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 21 2014 06:29 pm

Title: Chapter 9 - Wolf:Sheep::Fox:Hen

Nikki take your stalker seriously!  Why is still working these functions without any police protection? That Byron dude was way over the line and why was she making excuses for him? Love Quinn!



Author's Response:

I think she takes it seriously, but doesn't know what to do because he seemingly came out of left field. And how can you not love Quinn?!? He's got a perfect blend of irritating and infatuating qualities that make you swoon..lol

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 21 2014 01:36 pm

Title: Chapter 8 - A Lonely Heart's Obsession

Hi JoJo, your stories are fun.   Love your sense of humor!



Author's Response:

Thank you! So glad to hear I'm not the only one who's entertained by my stories :)

Reviewer: pearlcat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 19 2014 09:21 am

Title: Prologue - Purpose Driven

Omg I'm just at the end of seat here and I love it wish you would update soon I need this story in my life !



Author's Response:

I know that I've been M.I.A. for a while and totally slacking :( But I've been working on the next chapter and outlining the two after that. Hopefully a triple update will put me back in your good graces. Stay tuned, and I promise it'll be well worth the wait :)

Reviewer: Cat Signed [Report This]
Date: March 27 2014 04:24 am

Title: Chapter 8 - A Lonely Heart's Obsession

Wow!  What a chapter!  There's so much information to decipher and quite a few hints and leads too.  One being the items belonging to Cra- I mean Maisy.  Could there be a link between Mrs Barnhard's antigues and the Collins' veils?

What did Nicole mean by this statement (i found it intriquing):

I want something in my damn life to be my own without someone coming in and taking over. I want to be left alone

Another question:  why did Nicole and her lover end up in a hospital and the wife screaming at her?  What's up with that?

Great technique on introduing the clues through the esteemed, tea-party ladies...they, along with Quinn, were a riot!

Mad-kudos for the scene with Quinn calling Marconi and relaying info to his partner from Nicole. Very realistic.

Excellent chapter!



Author's Response:

Lol...Okay, let me see if I can answer all your questions...

1) is there a connection bw the two?? ;)

2-3) Nicole moved to Hopen Island because she was running away from the life she used to have (see story summary)... during her moment of distress, ie the stalker and flowers, she vents about past hurts. (more on that later). The full story of the BF and the hospital will be very soon...I won't leave you hanging.

So glad you liked my tea party! I didn't want them to be the cliche knitting society that made mittens for all the local kids..lol. These ladies have sass! Also glad the 'police talk' is believable. I watch A LOT of crime dramas/procedural shows, so I guess it's finally paying off :)

Thanks so much for sticking with the story...just more euncouragement for me to keep writing :)

 

Reviewer: JV4ME Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 09 2013 02:02 am

Title: Chapter 8 - A Lonely Heart's Obsession

Are you posting cast photos?  I need to see Quinn!



Author's Response:

I have been going back and forth with this since I started the story. Everytime I look for a photo that matches the image in my head, I never see what I want: handsome but still rough around the edges, youthful but not innocent, dark without being overly dramatic, independent but not alienating. Feel free to make suggestions though :) Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: pearlcat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 07 2013 04:20 am

Title: Chapter 8 - A Lonely Heart's Obsession

Nikki is truly working my nerve let the msn help you.  He is a cop!



Author's Response:

I know! Lol...she should stop trying to run everything and take someone's advice once in a while :) Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 07 2013 12:44 am

Title: Chapter 7 - The Way to a Girl's Heart

this guy- this...stalker/murderer- is the worst kind of predator b/c he is for-damn-sure delusional but also intelligent, seemingly wealthy and methodical. Being precise and steady means you're patient...and that's why he's so dangerous.  Also, if he's able to be a chameleon by discarding his non-descript clothing in a dumpster, and then strolling down the street, he could be that much more difficult to apprehend.  Quinn definately has his hands full.

And not just with the case either...

Nicole is playing hard-ball and becoming quite the challenge for the detective. LOL  She's nobody's fool is she! Can't wait to see more of them together.

Great job, update soon!



Author's Response:

Thank you! Yup, this guy is definitely smart about what he's doing...in a psycho kind of way. Glad you like the dynamic between Quinn and Nicole. They can each see that the other is attractive, but whether or not they have acknowledged they are attracted to each other remains to be seen.

 

Editing chapter 8 right now. It should be ready to post in the next day or so :)

Reviewer: JV4ME Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: November 06 2013 03:55 am

Title: Prologue - Purpose Driven

HOLY MOLY!!!! Over 5k views! You guys are awesome..thank you, thank you, thank you for helping me see that this may not be a pipe dream after all :)



Author's Response:

You rock my socks off :)

Reviewer: jojo83 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 03 2013 10:12 pm

Title: Chapter 7 - The Way to a Girl's Heart

Love your sense of humor and the mystery!



Author's Response:

Thank you :) I'm having a lot of fun with it

Reviewer: pearlcat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 03 2013 04:28 pm

Title: Chapter 7 - The Way to a Girl's Heart

Dde is coo coo for Coco Puffs!!  She needs police protection asap, pdq and like yesterday! 



Author's Response:

Good thing Quinn is ready and willing :)

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 03 2013 07:41 am

Title: Chapter 6 - I Want Your Body

Casey is quite the presumptuous bastard isn’t he?  And a liar too! He had the audacity to just…show up at a woman’s residence unannounced and uninvited and he expected her to be what…? Welcoming? Flattered that he’s interested in her? Man- please! Not only that, he precedes to deceive Nikki into thinking Leigha consented to said visit. Wow…the nerve of this guy…dude is really creepy.


Why the change of m. o.?  Is the investigation getting too close for comfort? What’s with the veils, what’s their significance? Does the killer view his ‘work’ as a form of salvation, rescuing these women from a life of deprivation or depravity? It’s so very interesting and I'm none the wiser as to whom the killer could be. Love the intrigue and suspense.


Still loving the story, still captivated by your writing style and attention to detail. Can’t wait for the one-on-one between Nikki and Quinn.


Great job!



Author's Response:

Yay! So glad the hear/read this :) Nikki and Quinn coming soon!

Reviewer: JV4ME Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: October 18 2013 04:09 am

Title: Chapter 6 - I Want Your Body

Casey is creepy he just shows up at her housexand lies  about Leigha xsending him over.  Quinn will ber saving grace and he's hot too! Yep don't like Casey and Nicole's  spidy sense should be tinvling!



Author's Response:

Is it weird that I'm excited you don't like him? Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: October 15 2013 03:36 pm

Title: Chapter 6 - I Want Your Body

Casey is a great character!   Thanks for the update.   



Author's Response:

You are quite welcome :) I'm having a lot of fun writing him!

Reviewer: pearlcat Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: October 15 2013 03:14 pm

Title: Chapter 5 - Kiss Me, Kill Me

Quinn & Marconi's partner dynamic cracks me up! Both are a mess!
This story reminds me of Criminal Minds, The Closer and the first Bad Boys. . .all of which were spectacularly scripted and thus FANatically enjoyed by me- Veiled Threat has joined the ranks of my favored crime dramas!
I love analyzing the suspects and surmising who could possibly be the killer and although Casey is creepy...why does Byron run me the wrong way?
Fantastic job!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much..I often wonder if I'm moving in the right direction with this story. Your encouragement keeps me writing :-)

Reviewer: JV4ME Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 29 2013 05:56 pm

Title: Chapter 5 - Kiss Me, Kill Me

Thank you for the update.  The combination of Quinn and "ever present stench" made me laugh!



Author's Response:

You are most welcome :)

Reviewer: pearlcat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 28 2013 05:46 pm



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.

Disclaimer: All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of the author. The author is in no way associated with the owners, creators, or producers of any media franchise. No copyright infringement is intended.