Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

I just reread this whole story because that's how much I miss it.  Any update coming soon!??

Reviewer: Love33 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 03 2017 01:01 am

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

Hi JJ! I hope all is well with you. Can we expect an update from Diya and Bradon anytime soon?  Really missin' these two, and looking forward to reading more of their story. 



Author's Response:

Hey Musicluva!  I wish I could say an update was imminent.  I've gone through several life upheavals over the last seven months, all of which have monkeyed with my time and creativity.  I'm hoping things will stabilize over the next few months, and writing will come a little easier.  Sorry to keep you all waiting.  I have every intention of finishing Brandon and Diya's story, and appreciate your continued interest.  Be blessed!  Joelle

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 19 2017 12:17 am

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

Had to follow you over from whattpad after i read consequences ages ago! I'm losing my shit over here. A day and a half of no sleep reading this delectable tale. I can't wait to read the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Thanks Colourednymph!  So glad you've enjoyed the story thus far. 

Reviewer: Colourednymph Signed [Report This]
Date: December 23 2016 10:16 am

Title: Chapter 22 - The Friend of My Lover Ain't My Friend

Congrats on your new job and may your move go smoothly...I hate moving as the upheaval of your life can be quite stressful...so praying for an easy and minimally stressful move for you...I didn't get your email...bummer...and I wonder that you didn't get mine with the link to the beautiful picture of Josh Mario John (beautiful tattooed man)...

 

I get what you are saying since boxers are a bully breed (one of many)...but when I read that "Kelly breeds Bullies", I automatically consider it means American Bullies as in the specific breed, especially since this breed is quite popular in Texas and are referenced primarily as Bullies...in fact, I know a breeder in Texas that raises beautiful American Bullies, but we only refer to them as Bullies...my bad...though boxers are a bully breed, and not a week passes that I don't treat a boxer in veterinary practice, virtually no one refers to them as bullies...hence my confusion...my apologies...looking forward to your updates whenever they come...as long as you eventually put me out of my misery and post an update...this story is my absolute favorite for the reasons I stated...be blessed...



Author's Response:

Thanks for the congrats and the prayers.  The worst part of the moving process (the packing) is already done...well, almost.  But I'll take all the prayers I can get.

I didn't get your email, I'm sorry to say, but did give ole Johnny boy a Google gander.  And yes, he is deliciously made.

As for the bullies, I heard some sort of animal specialist on Animal Planet call bully breeds "bullies," looked it up online, and referenced accordingly.  I know little to nothing about veterinary medicine, dog breeding, and whether they use the same distinctions, and certainly wasn't trying to question your professional knowledge.  If it came of that way, I do apologize.  You clearly know your stuff from multiple angles.  Just trying to explain where I got "bullies" from. 

Thanks for the blessings.  Sending the same to you.

Reviewer: jahchannah Signed [Report This]
Date: September 11 2016 08:18 pm

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

Awesome!!  😃 👍🏾 Good luck with your new job and the move!  No worries ... Will look forward to your next update when you are able to. 



Author's Response:

Thanks Musicluva!

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 10 2016 04:53 pm

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

I'm missing my favorite story and couple. 😰 Update soon?



Author's Response:

Probably not, I'm sorry to say.  I recently started a job that has drastically decreased my free time, and I'm getting ready to move.  But AS SOON as I get settled, I'll work on completing and posting the next chapter (or two).  I apologize for the wait.  Thanks for your readership and continued interest, Musicluva!

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 07 2016 06:38 pm

Title: Chapter 22 - The Friend of My Lover Ain't My Friend

I loved this chapter (but I love them all)...still I didn't like my first review so here I am again...Puppies!!!...what a way to win a girl's heart...at least mine...though Bullies are related to pit bulls not Boxers...Bullies are short and stout...Boxers are much taller and lean...both breeds are beautiful but two different breeds with totally different looks (the veterinarian in me couildn't resist clarifying, no offense intended)...puppies give such unconditional love, which I think will be needed for our couple in the coming days dealing with the certifiable De La Royas...Brandon's feelings about Mannie are understandable because of William's meddling, but he need not worry because Diya is all his...even Marisol is not a problem since she clearly knows from Brandon that Diya is his life...can't wait for Diya to meet Big Whoa...I was so hoping a meeting between them would happen, and I'm so looking forward to that chapter...and Branny's new tatt I imagine will be really sexy...maybe it will be something that relates to his love for Diya...so looking forward to more...you have prepared me for a lot of excitement to come...I love the pace at which you built Brandon and Diya's relationship...they took time to really know each other before becoming intimate and we got to enjoy seeing them fall in love...that's romance...and to me, you write it brilliantly...you managed to get me deeply invested in your story and characters...your storyline feels realistic and believable...your characters are not perfect which makes them relatable and quite likeable...I'm stoked and can't wait to continue the journey with you...I am always amazed by you, Ms. Jax...thank you for continuing to bless us...may you continue to be blessed...

 

 



Author's Response:

Hey jahchannah!!!  I sent you an email a couple weeks ago with an article that explains the whole pit bulls vs. bully breeds (the former being a member of the latter, along with boxers, because of their shared Molosser ancestry) and thanking you for your continued support.  Not sure if you got it, but I'll say it again.  Thanks SO much for the support and sharing your insight.  I truly appreciate both : )

The Diya-Whoa meet-and-greet and Brandon's new tat reveal are coming up several chapters down the line.  Getting their will be the interesting part ; )  

I'm really glad you like the pace of Brandon and Diya's romance.  As a writer and a reader, I'm not a fan of love at first f*ck or microwave relationships.  I love watching two characters fall for one another (rather than being TOLD they are) and try to create that in my stories.  Many thanks for taking the time to let me know how my efforts resonate with you. 

 

 

Reviewer: jahchannah Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 22 2016 12:04 am

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

Please update. I need my fix. I laughed so hard. But why her sister let this happen? On another note; I seriously can not wait for the dinner. I wonder how Mr De Leroy will get rid of Brandon. Maybe the dinner is to embarrass him? I wonder.... Honestly your writing is just amazing. I can't wait to see what will happen next. PLEASE UPDATE SOON!!!!



Author's Response:

The dinner has a very distinct purpose.  More on that to come.  Thanks tisha123!  As soon as things slow down for me, I'll work on getting you guys an update.

Reviewer: tisha123 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 17 2016 08:04 pm

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

omg somehow i ended up on the old site and I thought this story disapeared! I wanted to reread and catch back up so im so glad its still here lol 



Author's Response:

Glad you found us again : )

Reviewer: helloWORLD Signed [Report This]
Date: August 16 2016 02:38 am

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

JJ this was so funny and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks for the double updates.



Author's Response:

YW.  Thanks jacqua43!

Reviewer: jacqua43 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 31 2016 03:28 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

This was hilarious!  I can't wait for Sunday dinner. What I wouldn't give for a seat at that table! I'll bring the mac & cheese. 



Author's Response:

Lol!  You might want to pack a taser and some zip-ties too.  Thanks BlkPearl!

Reviewer: BlkPearl Signed [Report This]
Date: July 24 2016 04:42 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

I love this story. Her family is just something else, I would go insane if I was Diya. I really want Diya to find another job on the sly, working for her dad has never worked with regards to trying to set her up or keeping her under his thumb by not letting her work at home on some days. I get that she loves her father but she's a grown woman and he's very possesive but the lesbian intervention was funny, frustrating but funny although I'm really surprised Chandi didn't have Diya's back (even a lil bit) during that intervention, seeing as she's the only one in the family that knows about her love for Brandon and didn't seem compltely against it but then again Chandi seems a little sadistic when it comes with messing with Diya. Excited about that lunch, Bran could deff handle himself but her (some) family can be so toxic. This lunch is certainly going to be a true test to their relationship. Can't wait for the next update.



Author's Response:

Yeah, dinner at the De la Roys will be a test and a trial for Diya and Brandon, to say the least.  Chandi was still in her feelings about Diya not sympathizing with her little temper tantrum early that day.  As for Diya finding a new job, that's an idea, but might not be enough to earn her freedom from William's interference.  More on that to come.  Thanks for reading and reviewing, carmen90!

Reviewer: carmen90 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 22 2016 02:41 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

sweet lord - Diya's family are crazy but the chapter made me laugh so damn hard! glad she stood up to them - thanks for the updates! truly enjoyed them  - cant wait for sunday dinner *dun dun dunn...!*



Author's Response:

"Dun, dun, dunn" indeed.  Thanks Yuukiyanagi!

Reviewer: Yuukiyanagi Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 19 2016 08:40 am

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

Finally some  Diya back bone! I love it.



Author's Response:

Thanks Astrid!

Reviewer: Astrid Signed [Report This]
Date: July 16 2016 12:40 pm

Title: Chapter 22 - The Friend of My Lover Ain't My Friend

Ice packs and IBUPROFEN, that's all I got to say.  But I love how Brandon gets all "My Woman Not yours." At the mention of Mannie. But then again Diya goes all "My Branny not yours" at the mention of Marisol. Got to love these two. And the puppies does Brandon really think they are ready to co-parent puppies? Looking forward to seeing how that plays out. 



Author's Response:

Poor Branny.  He thinks they're ready, but has no idea what fate has in store for them...  Thanks for reading and the reviews ,JovanBleu!

Reviewer: JovanBleu26 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 08:05 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

This was just delicious!! I have to say the fact that they thought she was gay and giving her an intervention had me in stitches. Chandi should be ashamed of herself for getting back at her sister this way all because she wasn't having that shit about her not being able to wear her designer clothes anymore. But Duya really stepped in it now, because Brandon will now have to attend a Sunday dinner with her pack of nutcases a.k.a her family. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: JovanBleu26 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 08:02 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

Diya's family is crazy!  Chandi could've had Diya's back a little. Diya couldn't avoid this forever if she wants Brandon to be a part of her life, for the both of them. This seems pretty important to Brandon, and by the way he's reacting, seems up for the challenge  I would think she would give Brandon some fair warning by giving him and idea of what he may be up against based on her families precious antics.  I'm a bit curious about Diya's relationship with her mom. Based of what I'm seeing so far, it seems they really don't have much of a connection outside of her dad.

I can't wait to see how Brandon handles dinner with the De la Roy's. 😈 

Thanks for the update! 😄💖



Author's Response:

Brandon will receive some form of a warning, but it may not be all that fair considering what the De la Roy's have in store for him.  

Your take on Diya and Devaneesh's relationship is spot on.  The hows and whys of it will be explored in future chapters.

Thanks Musicluva!

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 04:01 pm

Title: Chapter 22 - The Friend of My Lover Ain't My Friend

Thanks for the updates! 😍   You know I was waiting for 'em!!! 😄  

Diya and Branny are too cute together. I love this love jonesing stage of a relationship. Hopefully it'll get them through what's to come. Seems Branny started stirring the pot with his "swooning" 😍 drive-by visit. I think it's the nudge Diya needed. They've already established their dedication to the relationship, now it's time to step up to the plate, and knock this ball pit of the park.  Stand ya ground with the family girl! c4;🏾 💪🏾

Girl, Branny is a sweet heart with trying to coparent the puppies, but two dogs and two cats?!?!  Not to mention that both of them are in apartments. More importantly, the 'time' it would take, as Diya mentioned. Maybe it would be better to take them to his moms house since they have the house and land. 

 

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 03:52 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

I just hope they'll be so glad she isn't a lesbian they don't give Brandon any hell

Author's Response:

Lol.  A girl can dream.

Thanks, LetMeDream!

Reviewer: LetMeDream Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 03:21 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaassssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!! 

Reviewer: ErisJade Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 12:41 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

Her family is horrible especially her sisters!!  But she shouldn't have lying about Brandon in the first place. Diya quit that damn job working for your father and work for someone else so you can free from that nonsense.  So good!!

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 09:57 am

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

Brandon at the De La Roys for Sunday dinner will be a hoot...I dislike them all except Chandi (strangely enough)...she is just a stank heffa out to make Diya suffer because she gets enjoyment out of it but she is still different from the rest of the family in a good way...she knows of Brandon and has not shunned Diya in spite of that knowledge...Amali sucks...what a beotch...but family does not guarantee that you'll get along or always like a person...I'm just glad that Diya found the heart and bravery to tell them the truth that she is in love with Brandon...she has no reason to be ashamed of her relationship and letting the cat out of the bag, I think,  will only strengthen their relationship, in spite of Diya's fears...Brandon is tougher than Diya gives credit to deal with her family as long as she is with him and doesn't hide him...the fun will be in watching them deal with the antics that will ensue...I can only imagine the craziness and how funny it will be, especially with your genius flair for the comedic...thank you for the 2 chapter update...may you continue to be blessed...and just know this story is so my favorite...I am so happy you updated and it's been less than a month to boot...you are bomb!!!

 

 

Reviewer: jahchannah Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 07:36 am

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

I so love this story. I don't care how you decide to update it, I will be reading to the end.

Reviewer: kuriouskale Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 02:10 am

Title: Chapter 22 - The Friend of My Lover Ain't My Friend

In my car, waiting out the rain, reading. Reads the last sentence & screams! Lmao Jtfo

Reviewer: Avapriceless1 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 01:29 am

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

JJ, First, stellar chapter, Chica.

But I would commit mass murder on this crazy ass family. These folks are certifiable. But DAMN, if they didn't have me rolling.  I now have a headache from laughing so hard.

But, on the real, I'm glad she finally got it out there. I fear what will happen next. I don't hav any confidence that she will stand up for Brandon. We shall see.

Brilliant!

Reviewer: BellaChica Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 01:19 am



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.

Disclaimer: All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of the author. The author is in no way associated with the owners, creators, or producers of any media franchise. No copyright infringement is intended.