Reviews For The First Lesson
Title: The First Lesson

Really liked this.  Good flow.  I love reading about spokura!  

Reviewer: Troysmom0409 Anonymous starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/28/13 09:45 pm

Title: The First Lesson

I love your Star Trek stories, they are one of my favorites.

Author's Response: Thank you; I'm glad you've enjoyed them!

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/05/10 03:28 pm

Title: The First Lesson

That ended much to fast.

Author's Response: I hope, despite the length, you still enjoyed it!

Reviewer: pmgayles Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 02/06/10 07:43 pm

Title: The First Lesson

This was really cute Bana, I smiled the entire time while I was reading. And I loved the McCoy appearance toward the end. Bend over and take it. Heh.

Author's Response:

:-D  Thank you, Token!  Very glad you enjoyed it!

bana

Reviewer: TokenBlackGirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/18/09 08:02 pm

Title: The First Lesson

Sweet!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. :)

Reviewer: Sweet Pea Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/17/09 09:18 pm

Title: The First Lesson

While words usage doesn't change drastically over the years, certain rhythms are more familiar to today's speech. 

I totally get the free spirit part of her and the idea that off duty there would be a difference in whether or not they would speak more freely.  At the same time it is a little jarring to hear them go from what easily  sounds like it could be written in the original script to what I feel what would be more suitable to today.  

Now having said that, I am also aware grudgingly that things said in private no matter what age/era are probably highly outrageous to those who come after them.  I don't know if that makes any sense. 

Make no mistake though I enjoy what you do.   

My son says that I should just tell you what I told him... When I first read it I think I was thrown by the dialogue between Uhura and McCoy because that is just not how I expected them to interact. I was never quite under the impression that they had such a free speaking relationship off-duty. You see it differently and that is why I enjoy reading your pov.



Author's Response:

Oh, okay, thanks for clarifying!

I'll freely admit I'm new to the fandom, and I was also born about 20 years after TOS premiered.  That being said, this show IS set 200 years in the future, so I think there could be a bit liberties of how we think the characters would speak to each other, especially off duty.  I've read other fics, however, that is so clearly how people talk now that it doesn't "sound" like them at all, or the essence of them.  I try to at least keep the essence even if their diction isn't completely true to how they are during the series run.

Also, I was watching some of the movies, and McCoy is a movie-rating away from cussing like a sailor, I think! lol  He's crumudgeonly and surly and I love him to pieces, but McCoy always had a soft spot for Uhura, just like the majority of the male crew members did (I've been screencapping scenes like whoa...kind of sad, but it helps me construct their personalities because I can look at scenes).  He and Spock are especially super aware of her whenever she's on a landing party, IMO, so I want to bring that into their conversations--especially when they're off duty.

I think the other two TOS fics I have up here might be less jarring for you, but the ones I've been writing, probably more so.  Either way, I do hope the spirit of the characters remains familiar to you and I thank you so much for giving me a chance!

bana 

Reviewer: Acorn's Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 05/16/09 12:16 am

Title: The First Lesson

I love these two together. I hope you are going to be writing more stories with them. Great job .

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading!  And yes, there is more on the way!  I hope you enoy those as well!

bana

Reviewer: Stacie Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/13/09 09:39 pm

Title: The First Lesson

Well, I've come to look forward to your view of the Spock/Uhura love twist. 

This one is lovely and sets the tone right nicely for the other two segments.  Are they meant to be a small series? 

I have to admit though it always throws me when you have them talking.  It slips so easily from show vernacular to real life insanity that it takes me a minute to adjust and catch up. It is, however, fun to read and I look forward to whatever else comes. You certainly seem to be having fun, which is always a good thing.



Author's Response:

It slips so easily from show vernacular to real life insanity that it takes me a minute to adjust and catch up.

I'm not entirely sure what you mean here.  Could you expand on that?  I think, especially off-duty, and especially Uhura, isn't going to be as "proper" as they are while on duty, which is usually what you see on the show.  I see Uhura as more of a free spirit, and Bones is a sailor with a medkit lol.  I hope it doesn't put you off too badly, and thank you for reading!

bana

Reviewer: Acorn Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 05/13/09 08:59 pm



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.