Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

I know there's a light at the end of the tunnel but boy, does it hurt now. Although devastating, this was a wonderful update.



Author's Response:

Thanks, carmen90! We'll get through this.

Reviewer: carmen90 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 24 2020 09:04 am

Title: Chapter 34 - Hell Hath...

I knew that was home was gonna do something. I feel so bad for Diya. I hate Tyler and I hope Hollis broke his raggedy hip. 

Reviewer: Michmom2 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 21 2020 07:49 am

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

I can't breathe,  my heart is shattered. I don't know how to feel, I'm scared of what might happen if Branden finds out what is sick twisted brother and grandfather did I'm afraid he might just give Diya's father the leverage he needs to get him out of Diya's life for good.

I'm so conflicted, I love Diya and Branden together, however, I hate how Branden refuses to acknowledge Diya's discomforts over his relationship with Marisol. It Kinda feels as if his forcing her to accept their relationship. 

I hope Diya seeks medical help and counselling after what happened to her. Ihope Diya and Branden heal because their relationship is turning toxic and I hope Marisol can accept that Branden can never be hers and allow him to find the love he deserves. 

Lol I feel like what I wrote doesn't make any sense at all 🤦🏾‍♀️. Looking forward to your next update, stay safe and blessed. 



Author's Response:

You too, Mjiki.

Your review makes perfect sense. Diya and Brandon clearly love each other, but are not effective at communicating their needs or setting firm, healthy boundaries for the people in their lives, including each other. Marisol will be a constant point of contention until Brandon realizes her attachment to him exceeds that of a normal friendship, even if her intentions are pure. And that's a big if. Rather than acknowledge that, he blindly defends the relationship and, in doing so, IS forcing Diya to accept it. And we all know that ain't gone work.

More on how it all falls down in the chapters to come...

Thanks for reading and sharing your insight, Mjiki!!!

Reviewer: Mjiki Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 20 2020 09:34 pm

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

I am CRUMBLING. my darling PLEASE tell me there is a rainbow on the other side! your writng continues to be everything I can imagine. I can feel every moment written, your ability to completely immurse us into this story is unmatced. butgirl PLEASE take marisol out I am willing to beg at this point. she aint gotta die....just.....move somewhere else.

 

but brandon living his life just as it was before he met Diya is really sending me! no call no text, you call yourself mad but you move through every moment as if she no longer exists, so what is the truth? I hope he doesnt think that Manny did it. I have a strong feeling hes going to go home to his mom and somehow hes going to figure it out, but i have a stronger feeling that he is going to remain blissfully oblivious to it, dig himself into a deeper hole, eventually find out, and somewhat blame Diya for not telling him, and then leave her life permenantly because he "doesnt want to harm her further". which at this point, i may be in favor for. 

 

as always, despite my broken little heart, I am looking forward to the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the awesome feedback, GoddessWarlord! It means a lot.

There is a rainbow of sorts in Diya's future. But I can't promise how bright it'll be or long it'll last, or that Marisol will be properly dispatched (lol). That would require Brandon's cooperation, and he is clearly not ready, nor is he immune to jumping to all the wrong conclusion about Mannie.

Or is he?

More on that to come...

Reviewer: GoddessWarlord Signed [Report This]
Date: May 17 2020 11:37 pm

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

Keep running...you can buy shoes somewhere else.

She really need to run to the closest ER and get some x-rays done.

Tell daddy you are through with Brandon and maybe he will leave him alone.

Just go your separate ways, because Brandon will never put Diya before Marisol and those kids.  He's weak, so sorry.  She's over there trying to help him and getting sexually assaaulted, while his azz is with his ex like he's the daddy.  I know he didn't know his brother and grand was doing this, but dude hasn't contacted her in a week and well, he's so full of shit.  Boy, bye.



Author's Response:

You might be right about Brandon never being able to make Diya his priority. Question is, how long will it take for Diya to see that? Or has she already come to the realization.

Thanks for reviewing, Penelope.

Reviewer: Penelope Signed [Report This]
Date: May 12 2020 12:46 am

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

So glad to see updates coming. I don't mind these tough bits and wouldn't want to rush through them to get to the nicer stuff. Just glad to be getting more of your wonderful writing again.



Author's Response:

Thanks, iscream4icecream! So glad you're hanging in there with me and enjoying the story.

Reviewer: iscream4icecream Signed [Report This]
Date: May 11 2020 03:10 am

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

I think that Diya should just break up with Brandon.  They're stuck, she needs to be by herself to heal, tell her Dad that he got his wish and move across the country to start over.  Brandon, his family and issues are not worth her sanity.  Yes, it will hurt for awhile, that's where counseling steps in to help her live again.  No one is valuing her as they should and it's a shame.  Diya needs to be free so that she can live.

 Whatever happens to Brandon is up to him.  He doesn't want to grow.  It will take Diya really leaving him and everyone else behind for  Brandon and her family to realize how much they screwed up.

Diya needs peace, a clean slate will give that to her eventually.



Author's Response:

Yeah, you're not alone in calling for an end to the relationship (along with a cross-country move). It may be what's required for her to value herself and prompt her to demand that from others.

Brandon isn't growing. But I'm not sure if it's an issue of him not wanting to, or not realizing he can and should. That clarity might come at the expense of his relationship. More on that later.

Thanks for sharing your insight, Harrie Holiday.

Reviewer: Harrie Holiday Signed [Report This]
Date: May 10 2020 05:28 pm

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

Oh my goodness!  My heart is breaking ’” for them (especially Diya). While understandably, I can't imagine what Brandon is thinking given the state Diya is in right now, Di just can't get a break. She is lured into this dangerous situation by that no good mf'a Tyler. She is beat down, violated, and almost raped by that dirty assed Hollis. She, had to endure the painful and embarrassing drive home with Brandon's parents (and I can't even imagine what they're thinking). Only to come home thinking she would be able to break down and regroup in peace, only to find her man laying in wait ready to accuse her after he played daddy day care with his first, and what it seems only love who he was going to off himself for.  What. In. The. Hell?!?! 😩.  That's enough to make anyone go completely nuts!  On top of that dealing with her own mess of a family. Damn girl! Is there anyone that she can truly confide in?  I dunno ... Zeria maybe? 

I wonder if maybe Tyler pulled up the same ish that he tried it to pull with Diya with Marisol. Only, maybe it was mission accomplished with her, and that's the tape Tyler showed her?  Is that how his dad had a clue of what had happened?  They'd done this already in the past?  I don't think Tyler tried to help Diya when he pulled Hollis off of her, his intention was rape and not a murder, and that's the only reason he pulled him off (that mf'a 🤬). Does he hate his brother that much to pull this kind of mess?  I just don't get it. 

Anyway, Diya and Brandon need to have an open heart to heart talk and decide if it's all worth it or go their separate ways. Seems they spend more time away from each other than together. Branny spends his free time with Marisol all the freaking time! 😡

I'm conflicted on what she should do about this attempted rape. Turn those mf'as in or let  Branny (or Pooh and 'nem) kill their asses!  Stay strong strong Diya!

Love this JJ! 🥰 So many twist and turns I never expected. So fresh and unpredictable.  Can't wait to read what's next.  Thanks for the updates!



Author's Response:

What a wonderfully accurate summary of the unadulterated misery poor Diya has endured. Unfortunately, there will be more to come. The people she loves know just how to hurt her without even necessarily trying.

To answer your questions, Gary knew Tyler was up to no good because he saw the state Diya was in and knows his son. As for exactly what went down with Tyler and Marisol, that will be covering in the not so distant future, along with the reasoning behind him pulling the old withered predator off Diya.

What should be done about the assault is a tough one. Because Brandon it guaranteed prison bound if he finds out. Unless, of course, he shows some uncharacteristic restraint and premeditates Tyler and Hollis's murder carefully enough not to get caught.

As for Zeria, can Diya confide in her?

You'll soon find out.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Musicluva!!! I so appreciate your excitement for the story and hanging in there with it.

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 10 2020 02:37 am

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

See, I'm all for the this to come out sooner rather than later. Diya and Brandon always wait too long to talk about things. That, and some heads need to be bust open until you see the white meat!

 



Author's Response:

Lol! I conquer. 

Thanks flikchick!

Reviewer: flikchick Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 10 2020 12:32 am

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

This chapter is just heart wrenching! She's obviously feeling disgusted and so affected by what just happened- the one person she didn't want to know was waiting for her. It kills me that Brandon obviously didn't know what happened and kept pushing, thinking it was something he could help her with. 

But... nothing he could've done would've helped besides him not being there. Like he said in the end of this chapter- he couldn't/wouldn't leave her. So she left. 

I feel so so so devastated for her. This would be sooooo horrific to deal with. Once again instead of communicating, silence was all they knew for a whole week! They really really need to work on this. Questioning her about her whereabouts? Are you out of your damn mind?! You DIDNT check up on her! You go around with your "friend" who is trash by the way! And think it's ok? Nah! 

AND of course MARI-WHORE AGAIN?!!her brats too zzz honestly can't feel for them ‘ (I swear I'm not a hater on kids lmao) I can only cheer on the sideline for so long before I just put down these damn Pom poms! (As in ive been rooting for Brandon Hahahaha) I really really reallyyyyy hope he opens his damn eyes. 

This is the time for him to bloody realise that she can walk out on him and not look back. Is that the life he wants? One without her? NOPE! So he needs to BEG AND GET OPEN YA EYES! She is basically almost out the door in this relationship and if he doesn't stop with this Marisol shit, then prepare to lose her. BECAUSE I DONT THINK YOU'LL COPE WELL MATE!!! 

Breathhhhhhheeeeereeee innnnnn!! Hahahahahahaha so sorry so much pent up anger lmao I really really want them to end up together- but my girl is so hurt right now. He needs to act... fast. 

I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS! I literally check daily for your updates!!! SUCH A HUGE FAN!!! If you ever publish any of your work, please let me know. I will support 100%!! LOVE! And thank you so much for the heart wrenching update! Loved it ❤️



Author's Response:

Thanks so much, Gordana!!! The passion in your reviews always make me smile.

You are in good company pointing out the chronic communication issues Brnadon and Diya have. They say just enough to keep the other attached and wondering. But, as you suggested, Brandon's unwillingness to set boundaries in his relationship with Marisol, if not the girls, is looking like it could be the proverbial straw. 

Diya needs unwavering support, and isn't getting it from Brandon. Which means she just might seek it from someone else...

Stay tuned, and thanks again.

Reviewer: Gordana Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 09 2020 04:05 pm

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

Diya and Brandon need to have an honest conversation and also go to therapy separately and together. Neither one of them voices how they feel and expects the other to know by osmosis. This mess of a relationship will never get better without them voicing their needs and expectations.

They also need to go to therapy to learn more about having boundaries and how to deal with the past in a more healthy way. Diya has started to have boundaries with her family, but she may need some help on not backsliding. Brandon needs to have boundaries with Marisol and her daughters.



Author's Response:

Yep, communication is key and, perhaps, THE biggest obstacle to the survival of Brandon and Diya's relationship. Therapy would definitely help. If only the both of them could come to terms with the fact they need it.

Thanks dcphoenix1!

Reviewer: dcphoenix1 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 09 2020 03:23 am

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

You are a fantastic author. I check this site every date for a update. I am beyond excited for this chapter. I found myself reading it very slowly because I didn't want it to end.  

Diya and Brandon need a long and honest conversation. Both of their pride is blocking them from being fully together. They need to put each other first. Diya needs to tell her family to back off and daddy needs to let her be. Brandon needs cut the cord and kick Marisol to the curb. He can be a great Uncle Brandon but he will/should not be "daddy" Brandon.

Please update really soon!



Author's Response:

Aw, thanks, Love33! So glad you're enjoying the story.

Yes, candor and effective prioritization is lacking in Brandon and Diya's relationship. To an extent, they both see it, but can't or won't do what's necessary to give the other the sense of security needed. It is both the major point of contention in their relationship and the one thing that might drive them apart. 

Updates forthcoming. Thanks again!

Reviewer: Love33 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 09 2020 02:08 am

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

Such torture of my beloved Diya and Brandon...Diya needs Brandon to put her first and in his mind Brandon needs Diya to do the same...some honest communication void of defenses against flaws they don't want to see in themselves would go far...but, alas, that is not to be...Diya is too raw and hurt...beyond humiliated...but Brandon will learn the truth because Katherine will tell when he talks to her...Diya can't see beyond Marisol and Brandon can't see beyond Diya's father...more obstacles with layers seem piled upon these two...I hope somehow they can eventually muddle through...just clearly not right now...and I was right about Tyler stopping his grandfather's attack...I'm so curios to learn why...I'm sad but I won't quit reading...you are stuck with me and I'm excited for more...I love being graced by your talents...be safe...



Author's Response:

Katherine's reputation for indiscriminate honestly when it comes to Brandon is well-earned. This incident may be no exception. If so, there will be major fallout for everyone involved and, perhaps, too much destruction for Diya and Brandon's relationship to survive.

Thanks so much for sticking with me, and taking the time to review and share your insight, jahchannah. I so appreciate you.

Reviewer: jahchannah Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 09 2020 01:20 am

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

Sadness...feeling Diya pain and that damn Brandon is still placing Marisol and the brats before her. Hell, I would had ran from his tried arse too. Beautifully written chapter. Please take care. Thank you Bain



Author's Response:

Yeah, Diya's patience with Brandon's relationship with Marisol has, quite possibly, run it's course. More on that next chapter. Thanks so much, Bain!!!

Reviewer: blueangel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 09 2020 12:37 am

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

My heart is breaking 😥😥😥😥😥



Author's Response:

There, there, Artamiss. There, there.

Reviewer: Artamiss Caine Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 08 2020 10:21 pm

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

I just want to hold Diya so much and burn the world for her. Our girl needs peace. I'm hurting for her. Brandon....I can't even be mad at him cause he loves those girls and isn't going to turn his back on them. I wish in that moment though, he had lied. He wasn't doing anything wrong but Diya didn't need that truth then and there. I'm sticking this out though cause I need to know how Diya and Brandon end. Thank you for your words and this world.



Author's Response:

You're so very welcome, NicoleDanielle1988. Thank you for taking the time to review.

I agree. Knowing Brandon was with Marisol when everything went down was a major hit to Diya's already fragile ego, and will drive some of her decisions that may, in turn, drive them apart. More on that next chapter.

Reviewer: NicoleDanielle1988 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 08 2020 08:11 pm

Title: Chapter 34 - Hell Hath...

She fought, even in those stilettos and on a trailor's linoleum, too. 

Oh Diya, please file charges, please!  Don't let them get away ith this and you could really be saving Brandon from prison.

The parents are going to tell Brandon, you can bet on that.  His behavior will determine if they will ever have a relationship.



Author's Response:

You've got a good point, Penelope. Because Lord knows, if Brandon finds out, blood will be shed. We'll see if and whose loose lips sink this ship.

Thanks Penelope!

Reviewer: Penelope Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 08 2020 03:03 am

Title: Chapter 34 - Hell Hath...

My word .... that was a hard one to read. Wow 😳 ... that f@ckin' Tyler (and his dirty @$$ed granddaddy)! 😡. I knew that mf'a couldn't be trusted! 🤬.  I felt like it wasn't a good idea from jump, but when he started making her jump through hoops for this meet up,  I knew something wasn't right. 😠  That Hollis is the devil! ‘ 

Diya “!!! I feel so bad for her. Yeah baby girl. Time for some self love and regroup on this here. I wonder if Katie will divulge this to Branny?  Maybe not because she knows if she does, he will definitely kill Tyler's ass for sure!!!  Man, if daddy De La Roy hears about this, it's going to be on!!!  I can't imagine what's going to happen next!



Author's Response:

Yeah, there are ticking time bombs on both ends of this. Katherine knows her son well. But she's also very fond of Diya and has an affinity for telling Brandon the unvarnished truth. So it's a toss up. Either way, there will be severe consequences for what happened. Let's hope Diya and Brandon can weather them.

Thanks Musicluva!

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 07 2020 04:19 am

Title: Chapter 34 - Hell Hath...

I knew that was home was gonna do something. I feel so bad for Diya. I hate Tyler and I hope Hollis broke his raggedy hip. 



Author's Response:

That can be arranged.

Thanks Michmom2!

Reviewer: Michmom2 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 06 2020 11:23 pm

Title: Chapter 34 - Hell Hath...

Whoa! This chapter right here gurl. This was a lot for my heart but I must commend you on your writing this chapter. It deals with so many heavy subjects but you did an amazing job with the scenes as they played out. The details and the way you painted the scene with gramps and Tyler along with Katherine and Gary were so well done that it was like watching a movie. I wonder how this will play out with Brandon now or even Diya's family if they find out about the assault. Can't wait for the next update.



Author's Response:

Thank, jetzero! Despite the dark subject matter, this review does my heart good : )

If either family finds out what happened, things will get exponentially worse for both Brandon and Diya. Loose ends like Katherine and Zeria make it more likely than not, as we may soon find out.

Update posted.

 

Reviewer: jetzero Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 06 2020 06:29 pm

Title: Chapter 34 - Hell Hath...

When or should I say are you going to ever complete Filthy Rich? Consequences was the ish for me a few years ago. I would love to know what happened to our favorite man slut.



Author's Response:

Lol! Me and you both. I'm at the mercy of my work schedule and whatever time, creativity, and will to live it leaves me. I might try to fit in a chapter in the next couple months, but that's about all I can promise. Sorry, Fire Starter.

Reviewer: Fire Starter Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05 2020 01:22 am

Title: Chapter 34 - Hell Hath...

Wow...you really went there...a difficult read for sure but definitely a reality considering the history of the perpetrators...though I read one part of this several times, because it seems Tyler actually stopped Hollis...did he hear Gary and Katherine's car pulling into the yard?...I hate it but it is definitely not Brandon's fault his brother and grandfather are demented...I so appreciated Gary's response but poor, sweet Diya...she will never be the same...but now Diya needs saving/fixing beyond any need Marisol has...will this be impetus for Brandon to truly give Diya his all and, if so, will it be too little to late...I am losing hope for my favorite couple but I will keep reading this tragic tale to its end because I love your brilliant work...you are not afraid to make your characters lives difficult...such tragedy can forge true growth or completely shatter a life...we will see how Diya copes...be safe during this difficult time...this update is especially appreciated...may you continue to be blessed...



Author's Response:

jahchannah, your eye for detail never fails you. Tyler did stop Hollis; the reason, or rather, what it reveals, is a doozy. More on that, and whether Diya and Brandon are past the point of being able to weather this or any storm to come.

Thanks for the well wishes and ongoing support! You are thoroughly appreciated : )

Be safe and blessed!

Reviewer: jahchannah Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 02 2020 04:59 pm

Title: Chapter 34 - Hell Hath...

Wow. This chapter just broke me... I cannot imagine how Diya felt in that moment. 

Diya ... I wish you never went to meet up with that prick. I wishhhh you listened to the alarms going off about his sleazy ass, BUT! YOU DID NOT DESERVE ANY OF THAT AT ALL! 

I was literally pausing every time the rapist grandpa would talk- I knew that they were both disgusting vile maggots. 

When Brandon finds out about this? Hellllll hath no fury. 

You know I'm 100% here for Brandon and Diya ending up together, but I really really really want them to air everything out with no filter. Not only to each other, but also to their families. Look at what's happened! Wahhh I can't imagine how traumatic this will be for her and I swear if she isn't supported, then she needs to run and I will support her. 

I just believe that Brandon loves her soooo much and vice versa- that he will do whatever it is necessary to retain it. if he doesn't realise it- it by being Mari-whore- then I will gladly back up Diya if she runs. Brandon needs to be in a situation where he realises that she can just leave his ass and his BAGGAGE behind! He needs to see how lucky he is! Seriously he needs to see this and beg. Grovel. Do it all. 

You know girl I'm a huge fan of yours! I love this story so much that I literally log in daily just to check Hahahaha  thank you for continuing this and giving us amazing updates! Love Diya and Brandon!!! Can't wait for more ! X



Author's Response:

The wait is over. Update posted : )

Your advice may prove prophetic, as neither Brandon nor Diya are in any place to be open with each other. Both harbor suspicions that will be made painful evident next chapter.

See you there, Gordana! And thanks so much for the love, reading, and reviewing!

Reviewer: Gordana Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 02 2020 03:53 pm

Title: Chapter 34 - Hell Hath...

To answer @flikchick, Nope. No man is worth this.  Extraordinarily bad idea is an understatement.  When will she see that there's something toxic in her desperation in her relationship with Brandon to the point she would have any contact with the jackhole half brother of his. 



Author's Response:

First Diya has to ask herself if it's Brandon, or something else she's trying to save.

More that later.

Thanks BellaChica!

Reviewer: BellaChica Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 02 2020 03:05 pm

Title: Chapter 34 - Hell Hath...

What the hell is happening here?!! Is one man and his f**ked up world really worth all of this? 

I mean...



Author's Response:

For Diya, maybe so. Or perhaps we'll find out the meeting was about a little more than Brandon and being a part of his world.

Stay tuned...

Thanks flikchick!

Reviewer: flikchick Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 02 2020 04:48 am



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.

Disclaimer: All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of the author. The author is in no way associated with the owners, creators, or producers of any media franchise. No copyright infringement is intended.