Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Whew child! That is a roller coaster. I honestly don't know what will happen next. Like, I cant see how Diya ends up okay with everything going on. But I ca t wait for the next chapter!

 

Reviewer: GreenRoots Signed [Report This]
Date: December 21 2020 06:03 am

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

I do t know but I feel like everyone wants to blame Brandon for the decisions that Diya wants to make because she wants to know him. But for me it's very interesting to have to characters like a radon and Diya that hide away from each other because they don't believe in what they have. If Diya believed in Brandon she would have never gone to that house that he stays far away from. And if Brandon believed in Diya he would never let anyone even Marisol be in the relationship. Marisol is an open book Brandon isn't continually with her because of her I truly believe it's because of those girls and a promise he made to himself about never giving up just because the passed ended the way it did. Mannie and Marisol might believe they have a chance because Brandon and Diya won't just be open and honest with each other which is why they are self destructing. Brandon isn't spying on Diya because he doesn't trust her I truly think it's the only way he knows to see her. Him asking her about cheating is the same reason she keeps asking about Marisol. Diya doesn't believe him and Brandon doesn't know anything else but Diya hiding from him. Do they need time apart maybe but the fact that Diya is still unable to trust Brandon isn't about Brandon but her self doubt. And Brandon not wanting to share with Diya is t about not trusting her but about a past he really wants to forget, he doesn't want to think about those people that raised him or about how Marisol nearly killed him. He wants to believe that he can have a family chosen by himself even if that family includes someone that Diya is insecure about because it's all he has.

Hopefully with time both Diya and Brandon will be able to talk and air their feelings out and hash out the pain and torment they both have rather than hiding from each other. But for both of them holding onto past significant other ie Mannie and Marisol is never going to be what they truly need unless they are truly ready to let each other go. 

Reviewer: JovanBleu26 Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: December 05 2020 04:32 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Nice update

Reviewer: Blessed Soul Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 24 2020 05:47 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Wow! I see why Diya can't turn to Zeira for support. She is totally self-indulged!  I mean, with friends like that ...  Is Mannie sill hung up on Diya?  He was the support system that I was expecting from Zeira.  Sounds like Mannie is fed up with her antics (and I totally see why).


 I hope Diya can get herself in the right head space during this time.  Unfortunately, I'm sure her self-isolation is sparking more questions for everyone involved (Brandon, her family, and friends).  I'm curious to see what her conversation will be like when she and Brandon see each other.  Will she confront him about her feelings regarding his and Marisol's relationship? I wonder if her trip to the police station will make it's way back to daddy De La Roy?  I also wonder what has Brandon been up to during their break, and if his parents have managed to stay silent on what really happened?


 


Great to see this update!  Thanks!

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 20 2020 09:45 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

I just finished reading this whole story and I am so invested!!! I can't wait for the next update. Ohh Diya makes me so mad with her silly decisions but damn if I can't help but like her. Great writing!

Reviewer: PetitteBelle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 19 2020 08:39 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

You don't understand how fast I clicked when I saw this update!!  

Diya, my girl definitely needs to heal. Time away from everyone, from her family and from Brandon will do her good. 

It's traumatic what she went through and I know she'll get through this, but she definitely needs time. Her sisters and dad are just deadbeats I can't stand them. Seriously I wanted to jump through the screen and fight her lol 

Manny is being her support system and I'm happy he's there for her- but I definitely don't want them together romantically... our girl needs to heal. 

Brandon... I know everyone wants her to ditch him - which at this time, I think she should remain apart - but I think they need to deal with their demons first before they can ever be happy together. He deserves the hate right now no lie

They NEED to actually talk and HEAR each other, but Diya needs to rip Brandon a new one. She isn't guilty- she never cheated. Homeboy however, kept this HUGE piece of info away from her. I don't think he should be forgiven so easily. 

But- I definitely do hope they're endgame after they've healed. I just want her to be happy and also Brandon but Marisol needs to go. 

Such a huge fan!! Legit love love love!

I can't wait for the update!!!

Reviewer: Gordana Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 19 2020 02:57 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Diya...has a ways to go... 

Mannie...well...

Zeria....WTF!...

Brandon....just go...

 

Thank you for the update!

Reviewer: flikchick Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 16 2020 05:49 am

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

So much drama...I still don't see a way out but my hope, brilliant author, is that there is a method to your madness and I just want to enjoy the ride...

Reviewer: jahchannah Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 16 2020 02:42 am

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Thank you for the update!

Mannie is a decent guy, biding his time, imo; hopefully won't be Diya rebound from Brandon.

Glad to see Diya healing on her own time, mentally & physically; stay away from Brandon and her family.

She still loves Brandon, because she did not tell the cops about his family assaulting her.  I think it would have really damaged Brandon and given her family more ammo...she don't want him hurt like that. I still hope Brandon finds out and beat the hell out of them.

Soon it will be time for Diya to go home...my advice would be to maintain distance from her instigating, selfish, manipulating family.  Also suggest ✂✂ ties with Brandon, because it's hard to keep loving someone that don't love you back...completely.  Wish him luck and focus on Diya...I would get a dog.😏

Stay masked😷 up, folks!

Reviewer: Penelope Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 15 2020 03:29 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Great update. I feel like everyone is stuck 

Reviewer: fanaserie Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14 2020 03:03 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Brandon, please kick Marisol to the curb.

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 14 2020 12:37 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Good Evening Madame,

Truly enjoy this update and I'm glad you're well. Now getting to Diya I wish she just pickup and leave everyone behind. Mannie is trying to get back in her good standing, and Zeria is a horrible person to exposure Diya pain so openly. That damn family lis messy and mean, lest not forget Brandon. Perhaps he need to find out that his bastard grandfather and brother hurt Diya. As for Marisol and the brats they need to be kick to the curb. You mention David Koresh in this chapter, when the events in Waco happen I was in chemistry lab and my instructor came rushing in and announced to the students what was occuring on national TV, everyone was shock. Per usually a wonderful chapter. Please take care. Thank you Bain

Reviewer: blueangel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 14 2020 05:52 am

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

I just caught up on this story today and Girl... you DID THAT!!! Didn't expect the abuse to happen but I'm glad it didn't go further then what happened. I LOVE THIS STORY and have been a fan for years. This is one of the mkst well written, entertaining, heart wrenching stories I have ever read. I'm here for the long haul and ready to see these two make it to the end. Please continue this story. Thank you so much for sharing your talent and imagination with us. It is much appreciated. 😊😊



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading and leaving such a lovely reviewing, Jkelly14! I appreciate you : )

Reviewer: Jkelly14 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 27 2020 05:03 am

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

I have felt like reading in months and I decided I needed to read and feel and this was where I started. This gutted me. I’ve never read and cried so hard about a character in a book. I read this chapter twice to make sure I didn’t miss anything . Diya is a sweetheart and she is now in pieces. I feel like Brandon and Diya have been through enough and they deserve their happily ever after. I’m just not sure if that will be with each other.
Joelle Jax, I must say you, are writing your butt off and this is one of the most enjoyable stories I’ve read in a long time. So many twist and turns and turmoil on display. Your storytelling and pacing skills leave me wanting more but scared for my fictional friends in the story. Kudos to you! Hope all is safe and well.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your kind words, Unileo77!!! I really appreciate it.

You're right. Both Brandon and Diya deserve happiness. They just might not be that for each other. The next chapter will give you another glimpse as to why.

Update posted!

Reviewer: Unileo77 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 31 2020 03:40 am

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

I know there's a light at the end of the tunnel but boy, does it hurt now. Although devastating, this was a wonderful update.



Author's Response:

Thanks, carmen90! We'll get through this.

Reviewer: carmen90 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 24 2020 09:04 am

Title: Chapter 34 - Hell Hath...

I knew that was home was gonna do something. I feel so bad for Diya. I hate Tyler and I hope Hollis broke his raggedy hip. 

Reviewer: Michmom2 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 21 2020 07:49 am

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

I can't breathe,  my heart is shattered. I don't know how to feel, I'm scared of what might happen if Branden finds out what is sick twisted brother and grandfather did I'm afraid he might just give Diya's father the leverage he needs to get him out of Diya's life for good.

I'm so conflicted, I love Diya and Branden together, however, I hate how Branden refuses to acknowledge Diya's discomforts over his relationship with Marisol. It Kinda feels as if his forcing her to accept their relationship. 

I hope Diya seeks medical help and counselling after what happened to her. Ihope Diya and Branden heal because their relationship is turning toxic and I hope Marisol can accept that Branden can never be hers and allow him to find the love he deserves. 

Lol I feel like what I wrote doesn't make any sense at all 🤦🏾‍♀️. Looking forward to your next update, stay safe and blessed. 



Author's Response:

You too, Mjiki.

Your review makes perfect sense. Diya and Brandon clearly love each other, but are not effective at communicating their needs or setting firm, healthy boundaries for the people in their lives, including each other. Marisol will be a constant point of contention until Brandon realizes her attachment to him exceeds that of a normal friendship, even if her intentions are pure. And that's a big if. Rather than acknowledge that, he blindly defends the relationship and, in doing so, IS forcing Diya to accept it. And we all know that ain't gone work.

More on how it all falls down in the chapters to come...

Thanks for reading and sharing your insight, Mjiki!!!

Reviewer: Mjiki Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 20 2020 09:34 pm

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

I am CRUMBLING. my darling PLEASE tell me there is a rainbow on the other side! your writng continues to be everything I can imagine. I can feel every moment written, your ability to completely immurse us into this story is unmatced. butgirl PLEASE take marisol out I am willing to beg at this point. she aint gotta die....just.....move somewhere else.

 

but brandon living his life just as it was before he met Diya is really sending me! no call no text, you call yourself mad but you move through every moment as if she no longer exists, so what is the truth? I hope he doesnt think that Manny did it. I have a strong feeling hes going to go home to his mom and somehow hes going to figure it out, but i have a stronger feeling that he is going to remain blissfully oblivious to it, dig himself into a deeper hole, eventually find out, and somewhat blame Diya for not telling him, and then leave her life permenantly because he "doesnt want to harm her further". which at this point, i may be in favor for. 

 

as always, despite my broken little heart, I am looking forward to the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the awesome feedback, GoddessWarlord! It means a lot.

There is a rainbow of sorts in Diya's future. But I can't promise how bright it'll be or long it'll last, or that Marisol will be properly dispatched (lol). That would require Brandon's cooperation, and he is clearly not ready, nor is he immune to jumping to all the wrong conclusion about Mannie.

Or is he?

More on that to come...

Reviewer: GoddessWarlord Signed [Report This]
Date: May 17 2020 11:37 pm

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

Keep running...you can buy shoes somewhere else.

She really need to run to the closest ER and get some x-rays done.

Tell daddy you are through with Brandon and maybe he will leave him alone.

Just go your separate ways, because Brandon will never put Diya before Marisol and those kids.  He's weak, so sorry.  She's over there trying to help him and getting sexually assaaulted, while his azz is with his ex like he's the daddy.  I know he didn't know his brother and grand was doing this, but dude hasn't contacted her in a week and well, he's so full of shit.  Boy, bye.



Author's Response:

You might be right about Brandon never being able to make Diya his priority. Question is, how long will it take for Diya to see that? Or has she already come to the realization.

Thanks for reviewing, Penelope.

Reviewer: Penelope Signed [Report This]
Date: May 12 2020 12:46 am

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

So glad to see updates coming. I don't mind these tough bits and wouldn't want to rush through them to get to the nicer stuff. Just glad to be getting more of your wonderful writing again.



Author's Response:

Thanks, iscream4icecream! So glad you're hanging in there with me and enjoying the story.

Reviewer: iscream4icecream Signed [Report This]
Date: May 11 2020 03:10 am

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

I think that Diya should just break up with Brandon.  They're stuck, she needs to be by herself to heal, tell her Dad that he got his wish and move across the country to start over.  Brandon, his family and issues are not worth her sanity.  Yes, it will hurt for awhile, that's where counseling steps in to help her live again.  No one is valuing her as they should and it's a shame.  Diya needs to be free so that she can live.

 Whatever happens to Brandon is up to him.  He doesn't want to grow.  It will take Diya really leaving him and everyone else behind for  Brandon and her family to realize how much they screwed up.

Diya needs peace, a clean slate will give that to her eventually.



Author's Response:

Yeah, you're not alone in calling for an end to the relationship (along with a cross-country move). It may be what's required for her to value herself and prompt her to demand that from others.

Brandon isn't growing. But I'm not sure if it's an issue of him not wanting to, or not realizing he can and should. That clarity might come at the expense of his relationship. More on that later.

Thanks for sharing your insight, Harrie Holiday.

Reviewer: Harrie Holiday Signed [Report This]
Date: May 10 2020 05:28 pm

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

Oh my goodness!  My heart is breaking ’” for them (especially Diya). While understandably, I can't imagine what Brandon is thinking given the state Diya is in right now, Di just can't get a break. She is lured into this dangerous situation by that no good mf'a Tyler. She is beat down, violated, and almost raped by that dirty assed Hollis. She, had to endure the painful and embarrassing drive home with Brandon's parents (and I can't even imagine what they're thinking). Only to come home thinking she would be able to break down and regroup in peace, only to find her man laying in wait ready to accuse her after he played daddy day care with his first, and what it seems only love who he was going to off himself for.  What. In. The. Hell?!?! 😩.  That's enough to make anyone go completely nuts!  On top of that dealing with her own mess of a family. Damn girl! Is there anyone that she can truly confide in?  I dunno ... Zeria maybe? 

I wonder if maybe Tyler pulled up the same ish that he tried it to pull with Diya with Marisol. Only, maybe it was mission accomplished with her, and that's the tape Tyler showed her?  Is that how his dad had a clue of what had happened?  They'd done this already in the past?  I don't think Tyler tried to help Diya when he pulled Hollis off of her, his intention was rape and not a murder, and that's the only reason he pulled him off (that mf'a 🤬). Does he hate his brother that much to pull this kind of mess?  I just don't get it. 

Anyway, Diya and Brandon need to have an open heart to heart talk and decide if it's all worth it or go their separate ways. Seems they spend more time away from each other than together. Branny spends his free time with Marisol all the freaking time! 😡

I'm conflicted on what she should do about this attempted rape. Turn those mf'as in or let  Branny (or Pooh and 'nem) kill their asses!  Stay strong strong Diya!

Love this JJ! 🥰 So many twist and turns I never expected. So fresh and unpredictable.  Can't wait to read what's next.  Thanks for the updates!



Author's Response:

What a wonderfully accurate summary of the unadulterated misery poor Diya has endured. Unfortunately, there will be more to come. The people she loves know just how to hurt her without even necessarily trying.

To answer your questions, Gary knew Tyler was up to no good because he saw the state Diya was in and knows his son. As for exactly what went down with Tyler and Marisol, that will be covering in the not so distant future, along with the reasoning behind him pulling the old withered predator off Diya.

What should be done about the assault is a tough one. Because Brandon it guaranteed prison bound if he finds out. Unless, of course, he shows some uncharacteristic restraint and premeditates Tyler and Hollis's murder carefully enough not to get caught.

As for Zeria, can Diya confide in her?

You'll soon find out.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Musicluva!!! I so appreciate your excitement for the story and hanging in there with it.

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 10 2020 02:37 am

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

See, I'm all for the this to come out sooner rather than later. Diya and Brandon always wait too long to talk about things. That, and some heads need to be bust open until you see the white meat!

 



Author's Response:

Lol! I conquer. 

Thanks flikchick!

Reviewer: flikchick Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 10 2020 12:32 am

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

This chapter is just heart wrenching! She's obviously feeling disgusted and so affected by what just happened- the one person she didn't want to know was waiting for her. It kills me that Brandon obviously didn't know what happened and kept pushing, thinking it was something he could help her with. 

But... nothing he could've done would've helped besides him not being there. Like he said in the end of this chapter- he couldn't/wouldn't leave her. So she left. 

I feel so so so devastated for her. This would be sooooo horrific to deal with. Once again instead of communicating, silence was all they knew for a whole week! They really really need to work on this. Questioning her about her whereabouts? Are you out of your damn mind?! You DIDNT check up on her! You go around with your "friend" who is trash by the way! And think it's ok? Nah! 

AND of course MARI-WHORE AGAIN?!!her brats too zzz honestly can't feel for them ‘ (I swear I'm not a hater on kids lmao) I can only cheer on the sideline for so long before I just put down these damn Pom poms! (As in ive been rooting for Brandon Hahahaha) I really really reallyyyyy hope he opens his damn eyes. 

This is the time for him to bloody realise that she can walk out on him and not look back. Is that the life he wants? One without her? NOPE! So he needs to BEG AND GET OPEN YA EYES! She is basically almost out the door in this relationship and if he doesn't stop with this Marisol shit, then prepare to lose her. BECAUSE I DONT THINK YOU'LL COPE WELL MATE!!! 

Breathhhhhhheeeeereeee innnnnn!! Hahahahahahaha so sorry so much pent up anger lmao I really really want them to end up together- but my girl is so hurt right now. He needs to act... fast. 

I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS! I literally check daily for your updates!!! SUCH A HUGE FAN!!! If you ever publish any of your work, please let me know. I will support 100%!! LOVE! And thank you so much for the heart wrenching update! Loved it ❤️



Author's Response:

Thanks so much, Gordana!!! The passion in your reviews always make me smile.

You are in good company pointing out the chronic communication issues Brnadon and Diya have. They say just enough to keep the other attached and wondering. But, as you suggested, Brandon's unwillingness to set boundaries in his relationship with Marisol, if not the girls, is looking like it could be the proverbial straw. 

Diya needs unwavering support, and isn't getting it from Brandon. Which means she just might seek it from someone else...

Stay tuned, and thanks again.

Reviewer: Gordana Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 09 2020 04:05 pm

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

Diya and Brandon need to have an honest conversation and also go to therapy separately and together. Neither one of them voices how they feel and expects the other to know by osmosis. This mess of a relationship will never get better without them voicing their needs and expectations.

They also need to go to therapy to learn more about having boundaries and how to deal with the past in a more healthy way. Diya has started to have boundaries with her family, but she may need some help on not backsliding. Brandon needs to have boundaries with Marisol and her daughters.



Author's Response:

Yep, communication is key and, perhaps, THE biggest obstacle to the survival of Brandon and Diya's relationship. Therapy would definitely help. If only the both of them could come to terms with the fact they need it.

Thanks dcphoenix1!

Reviewer: dcphoenix1 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 09 2020 03:23 am



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.

Disclaimer: All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of the author. The author is in no way associated with the owners, creators, or producers of any media franchise. No copyright infringement is intended.