Reviews For To Kill a King
Title: Vol. II

That was a wonderful story. You combined the show's characters and the movie's plot perfectly. Excellent job.

Reviewer: Jade Anonymous starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/11/12 09:25 pm

Title: Vol. I

Black women don't go on revenge rampages enough. :)

Reviewer: AGDoren Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/25/12 11:22 am

Title: Vol. II

OMG THIS IS SO WONDERFUL. BEATING MYSELF FOR DISCOVERING THIS NONE TOO SOONER.

Reviewer: A. Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 01/25/12 02:26 am

Title: Cast

Great Story! I love the Kill Bill movies and the Merlin characters fir so perfectly. I can't even chose a favorite part because everything was beautifully written. Thank you for sharing.

Reviewer: arcadia Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/31/11 06:27 pm

Title: Vol. II

Finally had the chance to read this and... OMG this was such goodness. I love that you can see both Merlin and Kill Bill in it. And ugh, I just love the Gwen and Arthur and Merlin at the end. And how innocent and naive Merlin is. It's just too good to be real.

Reviewer: femmenoire Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/27/10 05:45 pm

Title: Vol. I

I HATE THIS SECURITY CODE BECAUSE I LOST A WONDERFUL AND INSIGHTFUL REVIEW!!!!!!!

Reviewer: LilHelper Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 07/11/10 02:38 pm

Title: Vol. II

I really loved the exchange with Mordred and Arthur. These lines in particular:

"All of our lives are debts owed," Arthur says. "It’s just a question of who is paid first." Mordred reclines on the blanket. "You always did have a way with words."

"She’ll be here soon," Arthur says. "If you haven’t sold your daggers, I suggest you keep them beneath your pillow."

"And if I dream of her?"

Arthur turns and strides away. "Then you’re already dead."

It hearkens back to the opening quote by Q.T. I’m yet wondering the angle of Arthur’s intentions in putting Gwen to sleep. I’ll keep reading.

Now I’m beginning to understand Arthur and Gwen. He wants her to know magic---his way of protecting her. She wants nothing to do with it---her father’s way of protecting her against corruption. Arthur wants her with him in his quest to magically conquer the world. Endearing. Touching. But another means of control…sort of. I understand her feelings here; why she initially objected and why she ultimately agreed.

I love the rapport between Gwen and Merlin. I like what he said/noted about both of them kind of being equals in all this…servants still though they have titles.

I love the mention of Gwen’s training…juggling plates and dishes. I was reminded of the Disney feature, “The Sword in the Stone”, which, by the way is the extent of my knowledge of Arthur and his Knights (Excalibur ca. 1980something and the comic strip “Prince Valent”, not excluded).

Morgana and Mordred. Wow. He stole her ‘fight’ with Gwen. She killed her own son. WOW.

Merlin says her name again and she starts to cry. – me too. Not really LOL but I am verklempt! This is crazy emotional!

Merlin looks at Gwen and then turns to Arthur, his face twisted with rage and sadness.

"What have you done?"

Arthur looks at Gwen. "Something I can’t take back."

---this right here! I’m ready to scream too. What is going ON?!?!

This last bit has me all messed up. Seriously. He wanted immortality…she gave him ‘sleep’, right? Or is he dead? Maybe it doesn’t matter the answer as she killed the king. There’s a boatload of parallels to draw from the title but I can’t right now as I’m **SHAKEN**. I know this is crossovery-fanfiction but it reads like a fairytale chock full of adrenaline-fueled, banshee-dusted revenge! LOL. EXCELLENT JOB :) Oh and I like how you end with Gwen and Merlin :) cleaning LOL Again, lots of parallels here but I will cease and desist and respectfully bow out. Enjoyed it! Oh and I loved the scene with Gwen and the Dragon :)

 

 

Reviewer: madame z Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/08/10 12:30 pm

Title: Vol. I

And then she’s slammed with something hot and prickling, the weight heavy enough to push her through the stone floor. Gwen can’t move. Whatever he’s done is spreading through her bones like mud. Arthur kneels down, fingers still smoldering from the curse and smoothes an errant curl away from her cheek. The finality in his voice makes her weep.

"I hope you sleep forever. There’s nothing left for us here."

Gorgeous prologue. We're supposed to be angry come the end of it, right? I know I'll have to read on to figure the why and the how and if this was an act of mercy being put to sleep like this.

I like Morgana. She’s fearless and strong. She lives in the company of spirits? I admire her ‘sanity’. Freya is a little nutty but her eccentrism definitely worked in Gwen’s favor. Is she the lady of the lake? or has it always been Gwen? 

This is so good. Perfect, even, how you’ve folded both worlds together. Your prose is rich and vibrant and so organic and the pace is perfect. And Gwen has a most serious axe to grind. I love this! Onto the next :)

Reviewer: madame z Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/08/10 11:17 am

Title: Cast

Beautiful cast :)

Reviewer: madame z Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/08/10 10:52 am

Title: Vol. II

this is honestly one of the best things i have ever read i love the killbill movies and im such a huge merlin fan so seeing a merlin take on the movies is pretty damn cool and you certainly did it justice, so beautiful and poignant, i was in tears by the end of it.well done=)

Reviewer: tantalootee30 Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 07/07/10 11:42 am

Title: Vol. II

I am really not a Arthur and Gwen fan but your story was really great.  Thanks

Reviewer: Divsionred Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/06/10 08:17 pm

Title: Vol. II

This story was so tense and bitersweet. I felt sorry for everyone in this fic. You did an excellent job of capturing everyone feelings and emotions. It was hard to imagine a vengeful Gwen at first. The further I got into the story the more I could believe it. Wonderful! I love this story

Reviewer: jjazz59 Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/06/10 08:15 pm

Title: Vol. I

WOW, thanks for a great read.

Reviewer: Divsionred Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/06/10 07:32 pm

Title: Cast

Great cast.  Thanks

Reviewer: Divsionred Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/06/10 07:23 pm



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.